Drom’s showcase series is starting from next week!!

Date: Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Time: 7pm

Venue: Drom (85 Avenue A, N, NY 10009, 212- 777-1157)

Ticket: donation

Genre:  jazz, latin jazz, afrobeat to nu world trash

Drom started a new music series called Under The Radar. This night four bands are on the bill from jazz to afrobeat. The bands are Danny Rivera Orchestra (7pm), The Naked Woman Project (8pm), SoSaLa (9pm) and Manhattan Nocturne (10pm)…Four differnet bands with four different sounds!

Danny Rivera Orchestra

Danny Rivera is a baritone saxophonist and composer who currently holds a Bachelor’s degree and is a candidate for his Master’s degree from Manhattan School of Music. Under the instruction of Joe Temperley, Danny has performed all over New York City, including at the Jazz Standard, Birdland, Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola, Swing 46, Merkin Hall, and Le Poisson Rougue. Danny currently performs and composes for the 2009 Downbeat award-winning Danny Rivera Big Band, Danny Rivera Electric Orchestra, and the Bobby Sanabria Big Band. The CD, Kenya Revisited: 50th Anniversary Concert, was released by the Jazzheads label and nominated for a 2009 Latin Grammy.

The Naked Woman Project

A blend of experimental high-energy jazz, afro-pop, psychedelia and spoken word .” “Swinging modern jazz. Great arrangements.


In SoSaLa, front-man and sax player Sohrab Saadat-Ladjevardi blends melancholic melodies with those of his native Iran. Fueled by improvisation with lo-fi electronics, the diverse Middle Eastern, African and Western instruments, such as fula flute, talking drum, sabar, electric tar, piano, vibes, electric trumpet and guitar, make for an ambient and psychedelic take on World music. Saadat’s vocals give a dada-istic touch to social and political issues. Altogether, they call the music nu world trash.

The line up is: Sohrab on sax and vocal, Damon Banks on bass, Alejandro Castellano on guitar and Billi Ficca (TELEVISION) on drums.

 Manhattan Nocturne

Manhattan Nocturne is: Dan Lipsitz (Saxophone), Nick Catino (Trumpet), Mark Cocheo (Guitar), Dov Manski (Piano), Nathaniel Schroeder (Bass) and Matt Rousseau (Drums).